If you enjoy creative writing or if a challenge makes you feel like a modern day SuperFly,  then you might want to get in on the NaPOWriMO 30/30 Challenge.  Artists, Poets, and every species of Professional Humans are encouraged to write 30 poems in 30 days during the month of April and the site gives out daily writing prompts suggestions to help you stay in the flow.  You don’t have to use them, but I, personally, have always loved reading all the different experiences and perspectives we can all have writing from the same prompt.  The Human Experience is full of color and life, even in written form.

Even if you don’t consider yourself a writer, give it a try.  You never know what might rise up from the depths of your flesh and experience.  As a writer and poet, I often sit down to write something with a clear picture in mind of what I want to communicate and by the time my piece is complete, I am shocked at what is staring back at me on the page!   It is not a rare thing to find myself with gaping jaw, staring at the page (sometimes wet with fresh tear droplets) thinking “Well that took an unexpected turn.”  or “Did I just write that?”  I have often learned things I wasn’t fully aware of about myself through word pictures I have painted.

Writing is more than a professional service or duty for me.  Above all else, it is therapy.  I have been writing ever since I was a child and I believe it’s one of several reasons I’m still on this planet.  Writing helps me breathe.  It reminds me who I am, where I’ve been and where I’m going.  Other people’s writing reminds me I am not alone.  I love the human experience.  It’s not always pretty, but it always puts out beauty, even through the ugliest situations.

Why not put a little beauty on a page today?  You don’t even have to share it with anyone.  You may learn something about yourself.  But beware…you might not like what you learn.  You might find out you are still angry at an old lover, or that your childhood wasn’t all you thought it was.  You might discover that you are terrified of the next phase of your life or that you hate your job more than you thought.  Or you might realize how deeply in love you really are with your spouse or how grateful you are for your children or your lifestyle.  Whatever may be waiting for you on that page, I’m asking you to embrace it and let it inspire you to grow, to want more, to be relentless and intentional about your joy, to face your fears…whatever is required.  What do you have to lose?  Or rather, what might you have to gain?

Brazen sky…pink with fire
Rhythm of rain
Wet with desire
Go catch your life
On the tip of your tongue
Swallow it down
Then take off and run

With no turn of your head
Nor blink of your eye
Just take up your torch
And dance toward that light
Bring it close to your lips
Then push it away
Cast a Gypsy Eclipse On the shadows of day
And rub your flames
Up against the black skies
Undressing the darkness
Disarming the lies

Come fill up your lungs
With a riotous gospel
Now stop…
Blow it forth…
Pass the pipe
To Apostles

(GYPSY ECLIPSE by Karen Davis King)

As a side note, I am already behind on the challenge and the above poem is an old one.  Just keeping it real from one Professional Human to another!

For more information about NaPoWriMo, go to:  http://www.napowrimo.net

 

 

Leave a Reply

